Another Successful NJIAAI AGM

All of the Board of Members would like to thank the over 300 attendees that made the trip to Atlantic City for the 2023 NJIAAI AGM.  Without you, this event would not be one of the best conferences in the country for the field of fire investigators.  We would also like to thank all of the vendors for their sponsorships and Michele Stuart, Steven Avato, and Teresa Postell for their presentations as instructors.

We would also like to congratulate all of the award and scholarship winners:

John West Sr Memorial Juvenile Fire Setters Grant –  Mercer County Youth Fire-Setter Program

Gene Dannenfelser Memorial Scholarship – Michael Sawicki

Jerry Maxwell Memorial Scholarship – Eric Kaminsky

Jerry Maxwell Memorial Scholarship – Ivanna Marrero

Fire Investigation Unit of the Year – Ocean County Prosecutor’s Office Arson Squad Crime Unit

Fire Investigator of the Year – Keith Ferraiolo Union County Fire Investigation Task Force

NJIAAI Life Membership – Michael Gallagher

NJIAAI Life Membership – Ed Nunn

President’s Award – New Jersey State Fire Marshal’s Office K9 Unit


Congratulations to the newly elected executive officers and board members

President – William Rieger Jr.

Treasurer – William Johnson

Recording Secretary – Mark Sylvester

Corresponding Secretary – Daniel Pacewicz Jr.

Sgt At Arms – Michael Hines

Central Region Vice President – Michael Gallagher

North Region Director – Joseph Macones

Central Region Director – Nicholas Chiorello

South Region Director – Daniel Williams


We would also like to acknowledge the many years of dedication and service to this chapter by New Jersey State Trooper Bomb Unit Jim Varick who served as NJIAAI President and IAAI Board of Director Joseph Herzberg who served for more than two decades as NJIAAI Treasurer.   Both men have helped shape the chapter to what it is today.  Jim will serve as Immediate Past President to the chapter and Joe will continue to be an ambassador between the chapter and the IAAI.  Their dedication to the chapter is unwavering and we thank them for all the work they have done over the years.


Please look out for future training and we hope to see you again next year at the 2024 NJIAAI AGM!